Hauntingly Beautiful

Yesterday, my little one and I took an early drive to the beach to see the sunrise. It was too cloudy to see the sun but we enjoyed the beach, nonetheless. Then, we started to drive back home and we came up on this beautiful road.
IMG_9976

I took a turn onto it and we were mesmerized by the fall foliage and the peacefulness of it all.
IMG_9955

So, we followed the road and I shot some photographs along the way.
IMG_9929

IMG_9927
And then, there it was! Among the most magnificent trees, we stumbled upon this old cemetery that, other than that tiny confederate flag someone set by one of the graves, seems to have been forgotten in time.
IMG_9903
IMG_9913

The marker at the entrance of it says it was declared a historical landmark in 1966. It is on ground granted to Stephen F. Austin by Mexico and the first grave is from 1853. There seem to be empty ones where the stones read that the people who were buried in them were removed and placed elsewhere. I found that so intriguing.

IMG_9905
I’ve lived in this area most of my life and I’d always heard of it but I’d never before ventured out to look for it. Not only is the cemetery itself eerily beautiful, the area that it is in is absolutely gorgeous!

IMG_9946
IMG_9924
It feels like an enchanted forest and being a part of it, even if only for a moment, was breathtaking.

IMG_9960

“Religion is belief in someone else’s experience . Spirituality is having your own experience”.-Deepak Chopra

I hope you guys enjoy these photographs as much as I enjoyed taking them and sharing them here.

6 thoughts on “Hauntingly Beautiful

  1. And so look and understand the inner joy your experience is bring you. My spirit fills with a special vigor embracing your heart in each picture and every word. When I think of you I smile, because I know God is with you and he led you and your daughter to that special road, so you might capture its beauty forever! Amazing Mari!

Leave a Reply

